23 Oct 2010 at 00:43
On the Court, Video
Back row attack? Or not?
What are the key components?
How would you like to see the R1 and R2 best handle the situation?
by E.J. Swartz
29 Mar 2011 at 19:55
This looks like a tough one based on the angle of the camera. If we had a “net cam”, it would be much easier. I agree with the above statements… You must have a series of events that constitute a back row attack.
From the looks of it, I would say that she contacted the ball while the ball was entirely above the top of the net. Therefore, back row attack should have been the call.
Question… If the R2 has no doubt that she was completely above the height of the net when she contacted the ball, give discrete signals (which go unnoticed), isn’t it permissible for the R2 to call it? Given the fact that you use discrete signals, etc… Of course, a solid pre-match discussion could have helped eliminate the unnoticed part.
by Ryan Tighe
26 Oct 2010 at 09:46
We have a lot of decisions to make in this play in a split seconds time. 1st = Is player #20 (setter for team on the left) a back row player? If yes, continue to next BRA decision. 2nd = Is player #20 contact with the ball (1 hand set) COMPLETELY above the height of the net? If yes, continue to next BRA decision. 3rd = Is the next legal contact by a teammate? If yes, play on. If not, (which looks to be the case here) we have a Back Row Attack on #20.
In the clip it looks like #20 Setters teammmate #15 MB similaneously contacts the ball (joust) with opposing player #22 MB. If the contact was simulataneous, we have a Back Row Attack on #20.
Remember we have a Back Row Attack if the ball is 1) contacted completely above the height of the net 2)by a back row player on or in front of the attack line 3)and the ball completely crosses the vertical plane of the net or is legally touched by a blocker. The similtaneous contact in this clip constitutes as a legal blocker. Thus the BRA violation.
How much did the R1 and R2 discuss this play in there prematch? Did the R2 say they would provide discreet help and wait for the R1 to signal below the height, behind the line or my whistle will go off. Ultimately we want to get the call right. I usually tell my R2 partner, to give a discreet signal help and if I don’t acknowledge you with below, behind or a whistle, go ahead and whistle the violation to get it right.
Did you notice how the R2′s signal seemed to get bigger and bigger? It started out as discreet help, but then grew and he continued to step out to be more visable to the R1. R1′s need to gather all information provided by your crew (LJs and R2) before signaling loss of rally. It might help you from awarding a LOR to the wrong team. Which could cause a later scorekeeping problem if the table didn’t see your change of mind in who won the rally.
Be ready to go through your BRA checklist the next time you see this play!
by Larry Ruane
26 Oct 2010 at 01:40
Looks to me like a back row attack. The setter touched the ball entirely above the net, and then there was simultaneous contact by both teams when the ball was in the plane of the net. The R2 was showing BRA help, but the R1 didn’t see it before awarding the point the wrong way (unless he did see it but choose not to take his call, but I don’t think that’s what happened here). The R1 needs to always look to the R2 before awarding the point. Now the R1 needs to reverse his call.
Click here to cancel reply.
Mail (will not be published) (required)
Watch for the action at the center line. What's the right call?
#1 on the left is a BR player. What's the call? (Try in real time)
Total Voters: 231
The Eagles declared two Liberos for the match on their first set line up. During set one, one of the Liberos is disqualified by the first referee. In the same set, the other Libero becomes injured
Total Voters: 214
© 2012 USA Volleyball. All rights reserved.
RSS → Entries | RSS → Comments